March 28, 2011

  • I Got to Hug an Angel and Now I’m Just Braggin’!!!!

    Today has been a FUN day.  Our guest speaker at Rotary today was Mr. Dikembe Mutombo (the shortened version of his full name).  WHAT A GENTLEMAN!  He is fluent in ten languages, came from Kinshasa, Congo, went to college at Georgetown to be a Dr. but well when you are 7’2″ life has other plans for you.  So instead he had an amazing career in the NBA and spends his life making the lives of people that he will never meet, better.  He has a gift.  It is a gift of pure joy and love and he gives it to everyone he meets.

    He could be the most caring person I have ever met and I have to good fortune to meet caring people all the time at Rotary!

    He spoke about his foundation, http://www.dmf.org.  This man saves lives EVERY DAY.  He built the first hospital in 42 years in Congo!  He participated with Rotary in Congo administering the Polio vaccinations.  With his support, he and Rotary reached 8.2 million children under the age of 5.  That is an entire generation of children that I hope never know the word Polio nonetheless the disease.  He is a champion on education and delivering medicine to people in Africa suffering from HIV/AIDS.  This man is love and service and I had the honor of running the meeting today.  I got a hug from an angel.  

    (PS and I am wear stilettos in this photo and I still don’t reach his shoulder!) 

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *