April 18, 2011

  • And nobody wins…

    Although I am in construction and am accustomed to a “less compassionate” and certainly less politically correct environment that doesn’t mean that I don’t feel anguish with certain decisions.  There are two circumstances that cause me a great deal of strain right now.  Throughout each of them I toil over and over and over again in my head to find some sort of win – win that I can live with.  And tonight nobody wins.

    The current president of my Rotary club is an absolute brilliant leader.  He works both wisely and tirelessly.  He has moved the club in one year further than most could dream of in five.  I am honored to be on his board.  Tonight I watched him go through the mental toil over an issue where frankly, nobody wins.  We can’t stick our heads in the sand and we can’t wait for time to pass any longer.  

    Although he is an amazing leader, he didn’t want to deal with a sticky situation because, like several of us, he saw that nobody wins.  I feel guilty that I forced him into confronting it and I expect that my personal relationship with him has suffered as a result of my insistance.  Again, more of “nobody wins”.  

    I don’t think anyone sitting around the table didn’t feel a level of anguish tonight.  I ask myself now, how could I have handled it better?  The situation is too fresh for me to know the answer.  If I knew how, I would have dealt with my leader in a fashion that perhaps didn’t damage our relationship. I wish that he wasn’t put into a situation that he would rather face a cononoscopy instead of tackling.  

    I wish that I could have found the way of win win.  Today, nobody wins.  The question however is, how many truly lost?  I don’t know when we will have that answer. 

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *