November 26, 2011

  • I’m Just Not Feeling That Holiday Spirit…

     

    It has been a long time since I have blogged.  In the interim, I have spent the past four months on a strict vegan diet, reduced both my adrenal and thyroid meds and am working hard at continuing the road to improved health.  

    I am finding that this does a job on your moods.  I gave up meat and dairy in order to help the joint aches that I feel during ashtanga yoga.  It has helped.  But as my adrenals get stronger, my thyroid meds have to appropriately respond to things and I have just come to the conclusion that hormonal imbalances are the third tier of hell.  

    I am anything BUT in the holiday spirit.  I’m the Grinch.  (Little known fact about me is that I named my border collie after the dog in The Grinch so I even have my own Max).  I didn’t care about Thanksgiving, am looking at my Xmas list and counting down through it just as I would house chores.  No excitement about making others happy as I usually experience.  

    I went to Target today and even drug out my Xmas tree (drug it out, no decorating yet) and three dog Santa suites (revenge as two of them pooped on the concrete patio right after I cleaned it) and NOTHING.  I don’t want to hear a Xmas song or break out trimmings for the tree. 

    So I did ashtanga at home to try to lift my moods.  Yikes.  I never realized how much of a huge difference a great yoga community can make!  I actually felt horribly discouraged while working postures that challenged me because I wasn’t with my yoga buddies.  We don’t have to speak during practice but you know that you have people supporting you.  Today I felt like the grinch and I attacked my own practice. 

    It is sunny outside, I had much to be Thankful for yet have a huge sour puss face.  :(  I wish I could grab a little bit of that holiday sparkle in order to lift my mood.  I am only within a week of the new levels of medicines so I am still in the transition but just damn.  Nobody wants to be a grinch during the holidays!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     

    Maybe I’ll put a set of antlers on Max and see what happens. …

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *