September 24, 2011

  • It Never Leaves My Mind…

     

    I joined Rotary years ago because of the opportunity to make a difference in the world.  Certainly this has come with an array of side bonuses especially those of great friendships.   As my focus has always been projects it is no surprise that as I progressed in Rotary I was always keeping an eye on how we can improve our projects.  I also try to keep an eye on people behind the projects.  People with passion.  People with determination.  People that want to bring attention to groups that change lives.  

    I have come to the time that my position as an officer of my club moves me from project focus to overall club focus.  But those people behind the projects never leave my mind.  These are the ones that my job is to serve in Rotary so that they can, in turn serve the community.

    For around two weeks now, I have become particularly anxious about one of these members.  He is in ill health and one event that will focus on his charitable passion is about to take place and he may not be able to attend.  It fills me with sadness as last year he was unable to attend because of a family tragedy.  I feel empty when a recognize the dreams of a member that can not enjoy the fruits of their labor. 

    I don’t even personally know this member well, we have never even had the chance to enjoy a meeting at the same table but his drive and contribution never leaves my mind.  I can’t wave a magic wand and make him well, but I sure wish I had a way to bridge the gap between this small but important dream of his, and his ability to enjoy it first hand.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *