Month: May 2011

  • taking the night off…

    I brought my new laptop with me last week on vacation because I have a pressing work issue that I have to work on.  I loved San Diego.  My particular favorite was Del Mar with Encinitas ~ how marvelous.  I played in the tidal pools and watched dogs play on the beach.  I saw the sun rise while I drove to class and had fellow yogis great me as if we have been friends for a long time.  I did work while I was away but, not enough.  Taking the time away let me see that I need to redo one item that I have been working on and that item along with an avalanche of other items have kicked my butt all week long.  

    Additionally this is my first week in reducing my dosage of steriods.  The affects are apparent and immediate.  Last week in yoga, I woke up early and although I couldn’t do all the postures of the series, my joints were the most limber they have been in a long time.  I had the advantage of nine hours of sleep at night, didn’t have but one glass of wine, consumed a gallon of water a day and I was relaxed.  I still feel some of the relaxation but I have to accept the fact that the step down in dosage comes with an adjustment period.  It should take me about two weeks based on my history to see if this transition will work.  Until then, my knees ache, my fingers and wrists are tender but I am not tired as I would expect!  A very good sign.  I am hoping that I am on the road to recovery. 

    And in that spirit I am taking the night off.  For the next two weeks I can’t do ashtanga five times a week.  I should probably only do three and with that, some good yard work and perhaps a bit of dog walking too.  Spring is here in Georgia and it is time for me to finish planting my herbs and vegetables, work on planting in the back yard and see how far I can toss the tennis ball to my border collie.  I have learned that if I want to do these things, I have to respect the healing process, so tonight is for knitting, watching some tv, doing a few house chores, and go to bed early.  

    So good night and I hope that you too get some down time tonight.